Mr Whippy Chocolate Frosting – Traditional Method by Serena

image

I have literally tried a million icings and frostings and the right icing on a cake can turn a great cake into a fantastic cake!

Buttercream is fine – it really is, but I find it über sweet and if you have a rich cake it can be too much, and you can only have a little piece. That is clearly not good. So I found  a way to have a lot of cake by creating my version of the famous Magnolia Bakery (Sex in the City) icing. This is a chocolate version. It is technically still a butter cream but the whipping of it and the real chocolate cuts through the sweetness.

Like anything that is good, it takes a bit longer and there is more steps involved but it’s worth it.

Use this icing on my chocolate Devils Food Cake for a cake that will blow your friends and family away.

Also, if you have ever thought about making the Tim Tam Cake  – this icing as the middle filling would be divine. (I shall be making this soon so keep an eye out)

Or, put this on cupcakes. Have a go at the famous Magnolia Bakery Swirl. (YouTube it!)! I tried it, harder than it looks 😛

My top tips- This icing sets quite firm in the fridge because of the real chocolate and butter so bring your cake  to room temp before serving (ie, take it out of the fridge and gaze longingly at it for an hour before caving and cutting off a giant slab and devouring it)

Purely for testing purposes, I did eat this icing straight out of the fridge. At least ten times. You know when you eat the cream from a frozen cheesecake cause you can’t wait for it to defrost? No..just me? Anyway, the cream is icy cold and firm but super velvety..yes. That’s what this icing is like when it’s cold. And when at room temp, well it’s like Mr Whippy soft serve ice cream. 😍

Thermomix: I have just upgraded to the new TM5 Thermomix. 😍 I am very excited! However, I have sold my old one and have a wait of about 6 weeks for my new one, so I will be relying on friends to test my converted recipes – I will get the thermomix version up as soon as possible!

Without further ado, here is my traditional method recipe for my Mr Whippy Chocolate Frosting.

Mr. Whippy Chocolate Frosting by Serena

  • Servings: enough icing for 24 cupcakes or 2x 20cm cakes
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 375g butter
  • 255g melted and cooled chocolate (I use Plaistowe)
  • 20g milk
  • 1tsp vanilla
  • 320g icing sugar

Method:

Note* Do not short cut the beating times, this is what gives this buttercream icing it’s airy cream like consistency. You cannot over eat butter and icing sugar! (typo alert, that is meant to say over “beat” but its kinda funny so I’m leaving it! :P)

To melt the chocolate, place in a double boiler over simmering water on low heat for about 5-10 minutes.

Stir occasionally until completely smooth and no pieces of chocolate remain.

Remove from the heat and let cool for 5-15 minutes.

No heat should remain.

In a large bowl, on the medium speed of an electric mixer, beat the butter until creamy, about 3 minutes.

Add the milk carefully and beat until smooth.

Add the melted chocolate and beat well, about 2 minutes.

Add the vanilla and beat for 3 minutes.

Gradually add the sugar , 1/4 c at a time, and beat on low speed until a desired consistency is reached.

4 Comments

  1. Felicity says:

    Hi Serena. I have just made your Devils Food cake and looking at using this icing. Have you had a chance to convert it a Thermomix recipe yet? Thank you

    Like

    • Hi Felicity 🙂

      No I haven’t but the White chocolate version is up for thermomix, all you have to do is sub the White choc for dark choc (or milk choc and 1/4c Cocoa) you will love it, it is worth the extra work, it gets rave reviews! Xx

      Like

  2. Sarah says:

    Hi, there is coconut oil in the White chocolate thermomix version but none in the other chocolate one – is that a mistake or do I not use it if adapting the thermomix version for milk chocolate?

    Like

    • Hi Sarah , it’s optional in both. I found it made the chocolate easier to work with, ie stayed in a more fluid state for longer, allowing it to emulsify with the butter. Saying that, if you have beaten your butter properly, for long enough – it will generate enough warmth that you shouldn’t have an issue 🙂 good luckn

      Like

Leave a Reply

