15 minute dinner – be prepared :)

11743017_10154616491231959_1504837008949176817_n

Most of us are time poor, I think it’s fair to say. As much as I like cooking and creating, there are times when I just want to flake out in front of the tv shortly after arriving home from work, and the thought of cooking dinner just makes me cringe.

Here are my tips for short-cutting meals. I am using this meal I cooked tonight for my husband as an example but really you can use these tips when preparing any main.

1) Have some quick options defrosted in your fridge a few days in advance. I always keep some chicken, mince or rissoles and a bit of steak defrosted in my fridge so I can cook quickly.

2) Have par boiled potatoes in your fridge at all times to make home made wedges/ chips / potato salad. Use a potato that is meant for frying or an all rounder. In Australia, you should always be able to get golden delights, colibans or royal blues – all good choices. Boil them on a gentle simmer IN THE SKINS and whole until you can pierce them with a sharp knife all the way through, 95-98% cooked. Store in a sealed container in the fridge and use peeled or unpeeled.

3) Have some veggies prepped up at all times. I usually have broccoli, peas and green beans topped, tailed and in florets and ready to go. Store in fridge in ziploc bags and they will last a week or more.

ok so now for this meal, it took 15 minutes from start to finish,. because I had stuff in my fridge.

1) Chuck the rissoles on a medium heat bbq. Turn them around every 5 minutes. If they are over cooking, turn the bbq down or move them to a cooler part of the grill

2) Heat your oil (or oven for oven fries) Peel (optional) your spuds with a sharp knife and cut in chunky quarters. lay on paper towel to dry off any moisture.

3) Put a saucepan on the stove with 1/2 c water and 1 beef stock cube. Bring to boil. Mix 1 heaped tbsp. gravy powder with 1/4 cup water and mix to smooth paste. Add to boiling stock water, stir quickly to thicken and turn down to low. Remove your rissoles from the bbq and chuck them in the pot with the gravy to keep hot and moist.

4) Get a little container and put your broccoli mix in it. add about 1tbsp water. Lay a piece of cling film over the top loosely. Cook for 1 min for crunchy, 1 min 30 tops (cook to your own preference), I like crisp and crunchy veg) Take out and set aside.

All that remains now is to drop your chips into the hot oil, they will take approximately 1.5 minutes. Plate your rissoles, gravy and veg up while the chips are cooking. Season your chips with a flavoured salt or spice (I like  aussie roast seasoning or garlic and herb (available here) Add the chips to the plate, with the rissoles and veg..and you are done 🙂

follow me on facebook here

Serena x

Leave a Reply

