Cakes!!

Over the past few months I have developed a huge interest in cake decorating. Normally what that means is I spend hundred, even thousands of dollars knitting myself out with every accessory known to man in my ‘field of interest’ over a period of weeks, then I lose my shit when I finally go to start said ‘hobby’ only to find I don’t have one thing I need to make the project I want to..and I chuck the whole idea in the too hard basket and flog off all the crap I just paid top dollar for, for half the price.

Yes, it’s a character flaw. But quite frankly, I can’t be sexy, gorgeous, trend setting, talented, efficient, reliable AND have a high level of commitment. That would just be showing off.

Anyway, I’ve done the required pre-spend, I’ve even gone to the library and got books. Actual. Real. Life. Books. And, I’ve made a cake. Yep, actually made THREE cakes. Decorated cakes too. I mean, I usually make cafe style cakes, these ones though, have fondant. Modelling chocolate. Hard as rock buttercream. And I have had moments where I didn’t have everything I needed. It was tense, but I MADE DO. And you know what, I made fondant. From scratch. And modelling chocolate. FROM SCRATCH.

IVE WATCHED 97 hours of YouTube clips and subscribed to dozens of craftsy classes. This commitment stuff is time consuming AND expensive.

But. BUT. I’ve made three novelty cakes. Most people start with the basics, oh no, not me! I still can’t pipe a single thing, write on cakes or make a basic flower out of royal icing but I can make fondant, pastillage, modelling chocolate, marshmallow fondant, cake pops and carve cakes. And I’m still interested in learning more. It’s a miracle. Anyway, thought I’d like to share some pics of my three cakes. I will get the recipes up for the various cake coverings etc and post some of my projects and upcoming cake orders. Yeah, people are silly enough to order cakes off me… 😛😀😀😀

Modelling chocolate :

My first cake, a butter cream 4 layer vanilla drip cake with fondant decs:

** live and learn, bow miles too big and I trimmed the layers of the cake but not the outside edge of the cake

 

This one I’m really proud of, it was a hat cake for my husband. The brim is made of gum paste, the body of the hat is cake and the whole hat is sitting on a mud cake

 

This was just last week, it’s a rose cake – the idea came from a Facebook video that someone shared with me. the petals are all modelling chocolate, the calyx, leaves and board are fondant. The cake underneath the petals is a chocolate cake and there is a pink buttercream over it.

Leave a Reply

